Plus Size?

Yesterday I went shopping for a couple new bras at Burlington Coat Factory. I love that store and always end up walking out with more than I went in looking for. On this day I ventured into the intimates section and started perusing colors and designs. I got an idea for the styles I liked and started looking for my size. I was surprised that in order to find my size I had to head over to the plus sized section. Now I have curves and I know I’ve gained a little weight over the last two years since I last bought a bra but I certainly don’t think of myself as plus sized. It really got me thinking, what does “plus size” really means?

DSC04355

DSC04367

I completely understand the need for sizes but is regular vs. plus size really a distinction that needs to be made? Self image is a fragile thing and in case it isn’t enough to have ridiculously photo-shopped images of what “beauty” is suppose to look like shoved in our faces at every turn lets, add judgmental clothes sizes and turn up the pressure. Is it really necessary to tell people that they normal size plus some?

Personally I would like to get in better shape but my reasoning is not based on the inches of my waist or the numbers on the scale. I hate that I’m winded after walking up a flight of stairs. I hate that I’m sore after cleaning my house. I want to be fit and healthy but I like my curves and I like my body and no one should feel judged for not being a size 2. Each woman, man and child is built differently, who gets to decide what “normal” is? Being healthy is important, feeling good about yourself is important but fitting into some obscure size limit is not important.

The important thing to remember is not what size you are or what anyone else thinks you should look like but rather if you like yourself. Be proud of who you are and how you look! It’s what makes you, you.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

