Happy Holidays?

“Blessed is the season which engages the whole world in a conspiracy of love.”      
– Hamilton Wright Mabie

Every December I hear a lot of anti-“Happy Holiday” talk from my fellow Christmas calibrators. I have never understood the outrage of my friends and acquaintances in the use of the phrase “Happy Holidays”. I say “Merry Christmas” to those I know that celebrate Christmas but I prefer to say “Happy Holidays” to strangers and acquaintances where I’m unsure what holiday preference they hold dear.

Wishing someone happy holidays takes nothing away from my own Christmas experience. The shear act of wishing someone happiness adds to my own joy. On one hand, I have never known anyone to get offended at being wished a merry Christmas when they aren’t Christian. I believe people appreciate when someone takes the time to send good tidings their way, even if they don’t participate in the specific religion behind the sentiment. On the other hand, what is so wrong or difficult about saying “Happy Holidays” instead? Christmas is not the only Holiday this time of year, Christians don’t “own” December. Even within the Christmas bunch, no two families celebrate the same way. Recognizing that everyone is different and choosing to be sensitive to that fact will in no way diminish your own holiday spirit!

If you simply prefer to say “Merry Christmas”, I say go for it! But to object to and adamantly refuse the use of a greeting simply because it does not specifically reference your personal religious belief is not only self-centered but ignorant as well. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not saying people should be forced to use one phrase or repress their own beliefs in the name of political correctness. All I’m saying is to take offence, or rally against a generic greeting of good will is foolish and arrogant. If everyone focused more on spreading and receiving happiness and good will and less on the specific phrase being used, the world would be a simpler (and friendlier) place.

So to everyone, everywhere! Happy…
Christmas, Hanukkah, Winter Solstice, Ramadan, Fiest of Our Lady of Guadalupe, St. Lucia Day, St. Nicholas Day, Eid’ul-Adha, Boxing Day, Kwanzaa, Eid al-Fitr, Omisoka, Three Kings Day, etc…
In other words, HAPPY HOLIDAYS!!!!!!

Christmas

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

