When Christmas Comes Too Soon

Hey, I love Christmas as much as the next guy. I wait all year for the excitement and joy of Christmas, same as any kid at heart. But Christmas seems to be crammed down our throats earlier every year. I was raised in a house where Christmas wasn’t allowed before “Black Friday” and I strongly believe in continuing that tradition.


Now, what do I mean by that? Christmas movies, music, decorations, clothing, etc. are put away all year and do not make an appearance until the day after Thanksgiving. These days retail stores, radio stations, TV advertisements all start to roll out Christmas in full force in October, before we have even finished carving pumpkins. Some might wonder “where’s the harm in that?” and you’re right, it’s probably not hurting anyone but it does take some of the fun out of it. Halloween is my second favorite Holliday and I get giddy seeing all the decorations and spooky treats decking the halls of the stores! This year however I walked into each store smiling with anticipation of witches and skeletons and was instead met with display after display of candy canes and Santa Clauses. I did find one isle of Halloween decorations toward the back of the store but that wasn’t good enough for me. We should not become so obsessed with Christmas that we forget to appreciate the other equally important Holidays that come this time of year. It may be in part that the stores simply want to make more money, earlier, through their best selling Holiday but lets be honest, if people weren’t buying Christmas so early the stores wouldn’t be selling Christmas so early.

 

Warning: Please note that for the purpose of this post I am taking a non-religious view of Christmas, if you find this offensive please feel free to stop reading.

I feel there are two main arguments for why Christmas should not begin before the day after Thanksgiving.

One, it over shadows Thanksgiving (and even Halloween) causing us to forget to appreciate the season designated to being thankful. Thanksgiving shouldn’t be just a one day occurrence about stuffing our faces. It is a month of appreciation for everything we have, our family and friends, our jobs, a roof over our heads and food on our tables. It’s a time to remember that not everyone is as luck as we are. It would be a shame in such a materialistic world to skip past the giving thanks straight to the “I want”.

Secondly, half the fun of Christmas time is the anticipation, we have to wait and wait then finally it arrives! Another part of what makes it so special is the fact that it only lasts a few short weeks. We would take Christmas for granted if we had it all year long. There is such a thing as too much of a good thing. The only things three months of Christmas accomplishes is selfishness and high retail revenue.

I for one will not participate in any Christmas type activities until after Thanksgiving. I refuse to even glance at any Christmas displays. I will not be sucked into the destruction of Thanksgiving and Christmas! To some my stance may seem overly dramatic but both Christmas AND Thanksgiving hold a special place in my heart and I strive to maintain my enthusiasm for both.

Happy Holidays! I hope you remember to enjoy them all!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

